How to manage user Roles and Groups on the Motive Fleet Dashboard

     

    Audience Fleet Admins
    Applies To  Fleet Dashboard > Admin 

     

    Introduction

    • Custom roles and permissions allow the fleet admins to manage, access, and improve the security of their fleet’s data.
    • These features allow the admins to easily assign users one of our pre-built roles or create a custom role for them.
    • They can also limit roles to specific groups in order to ensure work is delegated to the right people.

     

    Steps: Managing user Roles and Groups 

     

    Assign roles and groups to a user

    1. Log into the Motive Fleet Dashboard, click on the Admin icon in the left-hand side menu.

    Admin.png

    This displays the Drivers page.

    2. Click on Fleet Users from the Ogranization dropdown in the left-hand side menu.

    image (13).png
    3. Under the Roles/Groups column, the existing roles for all the users in your fleet display.
    4. To change or edit a user’s roles, click on Options. Now, click on Edit Roles & Groups in the dropdown menu.

    assign 2 3 4.png

    5. This opens a dialog box where you can set a Role for the user in the primary field and a Group in the secondary field.
    6. By clicking on the + (plus) icon, a new dialog box appears, allowing you to assign multiple roles and groups to the same user.
    7. You can add multiple roles and groups by clicking on the + (plus) icon. Once done, click on Update to save the changes.

    assign_5_6_7.png

     

    Note: You can also click on the - (minus) icon to remove a role that you just added for the user.


    Manage user roles

    Through managing user roles you can view, duplicate, or deactivate user roles created for your fleet.

    1. Repeat step 1 and 2 from the section above.

    2. From the Fleet Users screen, click on the Roles & Permissions tab. The page displays the default and custom roles. In the Roles/Status column, you can see a filtered list of users who are already assigned to that role.

    3. To duplicate a role, click on Options for the role you want to duplicate and click Duplicate

    user.png

    4. A duplicate role is created of the selected role with the same set of permissions. You can set a new name for the duplicate role and adjust the level of access they have to your fleet data by checking or unchecking the boxes.

    manage_4.png

     

    Note: A duplicate role with the same name cannot be created. A new name always needs to be assigned to the duplicate role.

     

    5. You can also deactivate a custom role at any point. Click on the Options dropdown for the role you want to deactivate and select Deactivate.

    manage_5.png

     

    Related Content

    Share this with others